Lyrics Quiz #1
on 2002-11-29 at 10:17 a.m. Day after Turkey Day, having moved about 98% of my stuff, and sitting at my desk, on a day much slower than I would have thought. Tommorrow will be busier, I'm sure. Today, I have lots of song lyrics running through my head, so i thought for those of you out there who are music buffs, I'd throw out a little quiz. So here goes, I'm gonna lay down the lyrics, you guys leave me notes or guestbook entries witht he answers, by the number...

1. "Wooden Jesus, where are you from,
Korea or Canada or Maybe Taiwan?
I didn't know it was the holy land,
but I believed from the minute the check left my hand."

2. "Ooh, and all I taught her was everything
Ooh, I know she gave me all that she wore
And now my bitter hands chafe beneath the clouds
Of what was everything?"

3. "I don't try anymore, 'cause only booze improves with age,
I don't fight anymore, but sometimes my fists clentch up in rage
And I don't cry anymore, but sometimes my skies get cloudy
And sometimes them clouds rain down upon a dream,
But I don't mind anymore 'cause now my mind is wasted on a dream."

4. "The soul's escaping, through this hole that it's gaping
This world is mine for the taking Make me king, as we move toward a,
new world order A normal life is borin,
but superstardom's close to post mortar
It only grows harder, only grows hotter"

5. " A jail cell is freedom from the pain in my home
Hatred passed on, passed on and passed on
A world of violent rage
But it's one that I can recognise
Having never seen the colour of my father's eyes"

6. "life is like a shooting star it don't matter who you are
if you only run for cover,
it's just a waste of time we are lost 'til we are found
this phoenix rises up from the ground
and all these wars are over."

7. "it's not a choice i tried to make
it's not a thought i couldn't take
something told me it was time
to give you yours and leave me mine
my vision started to be clear
i watched the sunlight coming near
i knew the day i knew the night
i knew i could regain my sight
and it feels alright"

8. " I've this creeping Suspicion that things here are not as they seem
Reassure me Why do I feel as if I'm in too deep?
Now I've been praying For some way to show them I'm not what they see
Yes, I have done wrong But what I did I thought needed be done
I swear"

9. "There's a port on a western bay
And it serves a hundred ships a day
Lonely sailors pass the time away
And talk about their homes

And there's a girl in this harbor town
And she works layin' whiskey down
They say "Brandy, fetch another round"
She serves them whiskey and wine "

10. "Father into your hands, I commend my spirit
Father into your hands, why have you forsaken me?
In your eyes, forsaken me
In your thoughts, forsaken me
In your heart, forsaken me

Oh, trust in my, self-righteous suicide
I cry when angels deserve to die"

There you go, they are all fairly recent songs with an exception or two, and all of these lyrics have been stuck in my head a time or two recently. You've got til Monday, then I answer them myself...

Prev // next

Recent Entries:

Prodigal Jonzo Returns - 2005-09-16

Sober - 2004-02-12

Long time, and Happy Anniversary - 2003-12-08

Getting you up to date... - 2003-11-21

Welcome Home Richard - 2003-11-12

Wisdom tells me I'm Nothing.
Love tells me I'm Everything.
Between the two my life flows.
~Nisargadatta

Navigate
Recent
Older
Profile
Book
Quotes
Freestyle
Notes
Design
Host
Go WAHOOS!
Skye