Albums bought this week.
on 2003-10-02 at 9:10 a.m. I'll be damned if I haven't bought more good music this week than I can ever remember buying in one week. I bought a total of 8 cds this week. One was bad, real bad, and will go unmentioned. The others were:

1. Johnny Cash American IV: The Man Comes Around

I've wanted to buy this for a while, but "hurt" was so overplayed when he died, that I couldn't bring myself to do it until recently. The entire cd is excellent. When you hear Johnny Cash sing "Personal Jesus", you've heard it all.

2. Dave Matthews Some Devil

This is Dave's 1st solo project. He has a couple of fairly well known guest musicians like Tim Reynolds, Trey Anastasio, and the Dirty Dozen Brass Band on several of the tracks. The song "Stay or Leave" is my favorite, but it is one of those cds which has numerous really good songs, I can listen to this one all the way through with no let down, or sudden music shift.

3. B.B. King Reflections

What can you say, at 72 years old, this man still rocks the blues more than anyone ever has. The song "I need you" is by far the best on the album, but I'm in awe of this man, and when he passes, it will be a great loss. Lucille will get a home in the Smithsonian.

4. OutKast Speakerboxxx/ The Love Below

Dre and Big Boi put out this double cd set, one album from each of them, i guess as kind of a way to say, we can do it alone, but we prefer each other. Haven't had a chance to listen to the whole thing yet, so I'll reserve critical judgement, but I liked what I've heard so far.

5. Various Artists Martin Scorsese Presents the Blues: A Musical Journey

Okay, I have to say, this was obviously a set put together by people who thought long and hard about it, but "Tuff Enuff" from The Fabulous Thunderbirds made the cut, okay what the hell? That was obviously a pop-inspired song. I can't argue too much, cause the collection is a great mix of blues backgrounds, and it is supposed to be a personal collection, but The Fabulous Thunderbirds?

6. Various Artists Lost in Translation Soundtrack

I haven't listened yet, bought it yesterday, it's next in the line of cds in my office today.

7. ColdPlay Parachutes

I had both albums at some point, but I could not locate this one, so I bought it again. Record Exchange is my friend.

So there they are, 7 really good albums, all purchased through legal methoids in one week, can I be the new poster boy for the RIAA? Probably not, cause I downloaded a couple hundred others too this week. Oops. I'll be back with a real entry later.

Prev // next

Recent Entries:

Prodigal Jonzo Returns - 2005-09-16

Sober - 2004-02-12

Long time, and Happy Anniversary - 2003-12-08

Getting you up to date... - 2003-11-21

Welcome Home Richard - 2003-11-12

Wisdom tells me I'm Nothing.
Love tells me I'm Everything.
Between the two my life flows.
~Nisargadatta

Navigate
Recent
Older
Profile
Book
Quotes
Freestyle
Notes
Design
Host
Go WAHOOS!
Skye