Learn to speak ebonics, or as I call it "being Blingual."
on 2003-04-16 at 3:06 p.m. Today, you too can learn to speak Ebonics.

I used to work for the largest sporting goods corporation in the World. It was called the Venator Group Inc. They own Champs Sports, all the Footlockers, Going to the Game, Northern Reflections, San Francisco Music Box, and alot of other Mall type stores. I was a manager for Champs Sports for several years, in Richmond,VA; Roanoke, VA; and Charleston, WV. Throughout my employ there, I was confronted with slang terminology, that heretofore was unbeknownest to me. (Wow, that was a hoity-toity sentence, wasn't it.) I had to learn all kinds of names to call specific shoes. It was like all people had different names for the same shoe. For instance, the ever popular Nike Air Force I, that Nelly sings about. These were introduced in the mid-eighties, originally in a low top and a basketball high-top. Nike started to produce them in the early nineties as a fashion shoe. This is when they took on a whole new level in the hood. They are called flaves (as in flavors) because they come in all shapes, sizes and colors. They are called jaunks (junks), mostly because if you were an OG (Original gangster) you only wore them til you scuffed them, then they were junk.

So anyway, invisibledon has recently decided he would like to learn ebonics, or hood slang, or a mixture of both, so I have been helping him decipher all the izzle and eezy words. Isn't that right nizzle? That's the rizzle dizzle fah shizzle! This wheezy is off the heezy fo sheezy! So if you can picture, Invisible don down at the local bar, using his new vocabulary, it makes for an entertaining evening.

Her are a couple of translators to help out you Ebonically challenged folks.

Translator 1

da ebonics page

Well, have fun with those and peace out, my nizzles.

Prev // next

Recent Entries:

Prodigal Jonzo Returns - 2005-09-16

Sober - 2004-02-12

Long time, and Happy Anniversary - 2003-12-08

Getting you up to date... - 2003-11-21

Welcome Home Richard - 2003-11-12

Wisdom tells me I'm Nothing.
Love tells me I'm Everything.
Between the two my life flows.
~Nisargadatta

Navigate
Recent
Older
Profile
Book
Quotes
Freestyle
Notes
Design
Host
Go WAHOOS!
Skye