Keep your opinions off my Radio.
on 2003-03-19 at 1:08 p.m. Okay, so today is most likely the day. Tonight, sometime, in the cover of darkness, an Army special forces unit (or green berets as they are called), or Marine expeditionary unit will sneak into Iraq and start lighting up targets for laser guided bombs. In essence, signaling the beginning of another War in the Middle East. I�m tired of hearing what celebrities, politicians, and especially the French have to say about this war. I�m not a warmonger, and I�m not a vengeful person, but I just want to get on with this. As many peace marches as there have been, as many demonstrations, and anti-war sentiments from the people who voices don�t matter (celebrities), I just want it over. We are going to war. Iraqis are going to die. Americans are going to die. And in the end, we will have destroyed a dictator and established a new government, in a place that is not sure they need one. I don�t like it when people tell me what to think or believe, as I�m sure the Iraqi people don�t really like what they are being told. As I have told my friends before, I�m not a fighter, but if I feel I have been the victim of an injustice, I will fight to the death. I wish like hell, we didn�t have to turn on the TV tomorrow morning to find out it has begun, but I truly see no other recourse. Saddam has been given 12 years to follow through on a promise made to the UN. He has not, and will not. No amount of talking is going to fix that. I wish to hell we had the backing of the UN, but when has anybody ever been unopposed in War? Isn�t that the basis for War? If we had attacked Iraq immediately after the WTC disaster, we would have had no backlash, but now, after talking about it for years, we have no choice but to go in, and end this threat. And for those who think he is no threat, ask the Kurds, ask the Turks, ask the Israelis. Just because the U.S., the U.K., Australia, Spain, and Portugal seem to be the only ones sending troops doesn�t mean we act alone. There are numerous countries in the Middle East that just don�t have the resources to fight back against Saddam. Some are glad we are there, some are not. You can�t please 100% of the people 100% of the time, and I don�t expect anyone else to share my view, or even like it. But if the fucking Dixie Chicks can get some airtime over their opinions, then I can surely offer mine as well. Let us just hope that as many lives are spared as possible, as many soldiers return as possible, and that Hollywood can keep their opinions out of my living room.

Prev // next

Recent Entries:

Prodigal Jonzo Returns - 2005-09-16

Sober - 2004-02-12

Long time, and Happy Anniversary - 2003-12-08

Getting you up to date... - 2003-11-21

Welcome Home Richard - 2003-11-12

Wisdom tells me I'm Nothing.
Love tells me I'm Everything.
Between the two my life flows.
~Nisargadatta

Navigate
Recent
Older
Profile
Book
Quotes
Freestyle
Notes
Design
Host
Go WAHOOS!
Skye