BFWF #3 and some fun with the D-land crew.
on 2002-09-27 at 2:47 p.m. Okay, so my ISP was down all morning and I've been going through internet withdrawal. DAMN YOU NTELOS, you lazy, no bandwidth having morons. However, with lots of time on my hands I actually got some work done, and was able to put some thought into the 3rd installment of Big Fucking Word Friday (BFWF). So without any further complications here are this weeks words.

indefatigable -dih-FAT-ih-guh-bul, adjective:

Incapable of being fatigued; not readily exhausted; untiring; unwearying; not yielding to fatigue.

Classic Example: For the next thirteen years, with indefatigable zeal he rummages the libraries for charts and details of the spice trade and Pacific voyages.

--Alan Gurney, Below the Convergence

billet-doux il-ay-DOO, noun;

plural billets-doux il-ay-DOO(Z):

A love letter or note.

Classic Example: Perhaps she just looked first into the bouquet, to see whether there was a billet-doux hidden among the flowers; but there was no letter.

--William Makepeace Thackeray, Vanity Fair

Hobson's choice HOB-sunz-chois, noun:

A choice without an alternative; the thing offered or nothing.

Explanation: Hobson's choice is said to have had its origin in the name of one Thomas Hobson (ca. 1544-1631), at Cambridge, England, who kept a livery stable and required every customer to take either the horse nearest the stable door or none at all.

In 1914, Henry Ford offered customers of the Model T a famous Hobson's choice, making it available in "any color so long as it is black."

Well, that's it for the Big Words today, but I want to send a shout out to all my d-land pals who hooked up at the Community Inn last night, invisible don, my girlfriend, courtneymay and the cast of thousands. Okay, maybe six.

Prev // next

Recent Entries:

Prodigal Jonzo Returns - 2005-09-16

Sober - 2004-02-12

Long time, and Happy Anniversary - 2003-12-08

Getting you up to date... - 2003-11-21

Welcome Home Richard - 2003-11-12

Wisdom tells me I'm Nothing.
Love tells me I'm Everything.
Between the two my life flows.
~Nisargadatta

Navigate
Recent
Older
Profile
Book
Quotes
Freestyle
Notes
Design
Host
Go WAHOOS!
Skye