BFWF- 2nd Installment by request.
on 2002-09-20 at 2:14 p.m. I didn't think anybody was actually paying attention to my BFWF, so I wrote about other events in this mornings entry. However, I have become aware of a least a couple people hoping for their Big Fucking Words today so here goes:

SPOONERISM (SPOON-uhr-iz'm), noun: The transposition of usually initial sounds in a pair of words

Examples:

"It is kisstomary to cuss ['customary to kiss'] the bride."

Let me sew you to your sheet ['show you to your seat']."

EXIGUITY (ek-suh-GYOO-uht-ee), noun: Scantiness; smallness; thinness;the quality of being meager.

Classic Sentence: "The soldiers' pay is in the highest degree exiguous; not above three half-pence a day." --Carlyle

And Finally:

CONCUPISCENCE kahn-KYOO-puh-sun(t)s; kun-, noun: Strong desire, especially sexual desire; lust.

Classic Sentence: "Within three years Rorik's queen was dead, taking with her into silence her midnight cries of release from that captivity of concupiscence which Eve's curious sin has laid upon mankind."

--John Updike, Gertrude and Claudius

Thank You to all who read, and especially to invisiblepal who signed my guestbook and let me know that there are people out there.

Prev // next

Recent Entries:

Prodigal Jonzo Returns - 2005-09-16

Sober - 2004-02-12

Long time, and Happy Anniversary - 2003-12-08

Getting you up to date... - 2003-11-21

Welcome Home Richard - 2003-11-12

Wisdom tells me I'm Nothing.
Love tells me I'm Everything.
Between the two my life flows.
~Nisargadatta

Navigate
Recent
Older
Profile
Book
Quotes
Freestyle
Notes
Design
Host
Go WAHOOS!
Skye