3 long nights and no sticky palm
on 2002-09-20 at 9:51 a.m. Whew... I don't think I've been "out" three nights in a row since early in highschool. But now I'm starting to get a feeling of what I've been missing. Making friends, reconnecting with old ones, catching up on everyone you ever wondered about, and seeing people you hope you'd never see again. All in all, a glorious experience.

It all started Tuesday night, Shaw's Birthday. Macado's at Grand Pavilion in Roanoke. Before we get started here, I should say I don't drink much. Nothing against it, it just hasn't really been my thing since early in high school again. However, It all headed downhill with the Funky Chocolate Chicken, which made me feel like I had only felt once before. Once I stopped sweating, and got some food in my belly I felt much better and the drinking commenced... several hours later, after a swartzle propelling fight and Shaw's 16 or so drinks, we make the decision to move to Awful Arthur's for some gaming and drinking. Apparently, alcohol impedes my ability to shoot little virtual turkeys as I had my ass handed to me repeatedly. After that, I decided to head home, while the guys continued on their evening with a trip to the Angus. Of course I got home @1:30 and had to be at work at 8:30. Now I realize why i don't do this anymore...

Wednesday night, after working 8:30am to 5:30pm I go out to eat with crnflkgirl and her parents. Then over to Shaw's house to check out some coins he found. He talks me into going to see "Barbershop" which was moderately funny, especially because we didn't have to pay. I rode with somebody else, and after the movie was hornswaggled into going to the Pub for some Draft Cider and many dollars lost in the MegaTouch machine. About 12:30am I finally roll into my house and the dog looks at me like "Okay, last night I could understand, but dude, you don't do this two nights in a row. And just for that I'm going to remind you what it is like to have a dog at home for 16 hours alone, I am now officially bonkers." Officially sleeping at 2am, back to work at 8:30.

Thursday night, the coup de gras of my week. Left work at 5:30, headed to my fave, el puerto and had eats with crnflkgirl. Had a number 4 with chicken tacos, happiness personified. Forgot to leave room for sopapillas. Damn. Anyhoo, drawing on my experience form the previous evening, I went home and walked the dog and cleaned up the remnants of the bone she shredded in her "kill everything that moves" mode the night before. And I made the ultimate fatal mistake... I called invisible don. We had both been invited earlier in the week to the Community Inn by CITS regular courtneymay and decided, screw it, lets go out again, let's punish my body like I never did in college. So i call up crnflkgirl, she and invisibledon, and I headed for the CI, all arriving somewhat simultaneously. After a beer and a chicken sandwich (didn't i already eat?) invisible don and I tried to play pool, but it quickly turned into who can sink the white ball repeatedly without removing anything else form the table. Sometimes you just got to go with what is working for you. Anyway, to make a long story only moderately long, crnflkgirl and I both saw ex's, hers cornered her and rambled for a while, mine was cool and we caught up on old times and people we knew in common, same old shit different life it seems. God that was a long time ago. Invisibledon seemed to have a good time, but alas did not find anyone to lay his best line on. Courtneymay met us there and it seems a lot of her regualrs are actually friends of crnflkgirl's from high school so everybody got along pretty cool. So I left crnflkgirl and invisibledon and went home around 12:30, once again the dog looked at me funny, but she went to sleep pretty quickly, maybe the walk wore her out. She seemed sick this morning so i may go home to check on her this after noon.

Otherwise all is well, the chic-fil-a woman this morning had a white rag and wiped off my cup before she gave it to me, i smiled, at 8am, that is the exception that proves the rule, I don't smile at 8am. I'm smiling now, two chicken biscuits later, and no sticky palm.

Prev // next

Recent Entries:

Prodigal Jonzo Returns - 2005-09-16

Sober - 2004-02-12

Long time, and Happy Anniversary - 2003-12-08

Getting you up to date... - 2003-11-21

Welcome Home Richard - 2003-11-12

Wisdom tells me I'm Nothing.
Love tells me I'm Everything.
Between the two my life flows.
~Nisargadatta

Navigate
Recent
Older
Profile
Book
Quotes
Freestyle
Notes
Design
Host
Go WAHOOS!
Skye