Same old shit, same old day.
on 2002-09-11 at 11:32 a.m. September 11, 2002- I am a heartless bastard, that is what some woman told me today as I pulled into the parking garage and rebuffed her numerous attempts to place a flag in my hand and a ribbon on my car. I almost had enough sleep last night to argue with her, but all I uttered back was "opinions are like assholes".

Now that I'm here, and have had enough time to have some caffeine and contemplate her words, I wish she was still out there, cause I have a few things I'd like to tell her. I'm not a heartless bastard, I just don't want to glorify the events of a year ago. They happened, I'm mostly over it, and don't want to dwell, or take work time to observe a memorial service. Am I sorry it happened? yes, and I feel for those who lost loved ones, and for those who died, but the rest of us need to realize that by taking a day off, or even slightly disrupting the flow of normalcy in this country we are perpretrating the exact thing that the terrorists wanted. By lending our attention to the events, we silently comply with their intentions to disrupt our lives. I for one refuse to let that happen. I will continue to live my September 11ths the way I did before last year, going about my normal day. Those policemen and firemen were doing their job and it would be the most fitting tribute to them if we were able to continue to do ours.

Prev // next

Recent Entries:

Prodigal Jonzo Returns - 2005-09-16

Sober - 2004-02-12

Long time, and Happy Anniversary - 2003-12-08

Getting you up to date... - 2003-11-21

Welcome Home Richard - 2003-11-12

Wisdom tells me I'm Nothing.
Love tells me I'm Everything.
Between the two my life flows.
~Nisargadatta

Navigate
Recent
Older
Profile
Book
Quotes
Freestyle
Notes
Design
Host
Go WAHOOS!
Skye