House Problems, Part One.
on 2002-11-21 at 3:09 p.m. Alright, so I'm moving again, tomorrow. I had such high hopes for this house, that now I'm torn between being angry at myself and the landlord, and being glad to be moving out of that death trap. Here's the whole sordid story, parts of which you all know, parts of which noone knows, and all of it weird but true.

In late May I found out my great grandmother's house was for sale, and as I was looking for a place to rent/buy I inquired if the owner would be willing to rent until I could afford to buy the house. She agreed and I met her to sign some paperwork. A lease was all I was prepared to sign, but she wanted me to sign a Purchase agreement and agree to a large "good faith" deposit. I told her in no uncertain terms that I would not agree to that, because I could not tell her when I would be able to buy it, because I had to wait on my parent's house to sell before I could afford it. She and I agreed to many things that were not included in the lease, and being that I was pressed for time to get a place to live, I hurriedly signed the contract. Looking back, I'll never do that again.

What followed is almost unbelievable, definitely sad, and partly maddening. I went to look at the house with her, which was in horrible shape. There were holes in the walls, grease and mud all over the kitchen which was painted two toned, yellow and pink. Nasty carpet, bad wood floors, and generally scummy looking. This did not deter me, seeing as I thought I had the time, energy and money to make it a showplace. Also, in the lease i signed it said I would making repairs, so that she could not get upset later. Well, first was the electrical work. Several of the outlets did not work from day one. Namely the two large outlets with the Stove, and Clothes Dryer on them. I spent $500 putting in new electric service for the air conditioners and the TV's. Then $500 on new plumbing because there was no shower, only a tub. Then I proceeded to paint, room by room. Oops, gott run, part two later.

Prev // next

Recent Entries:

Prodigal Jonzo Returns - 2005-09-16

Sober - 2004-02-12

Long time, and Happy Anniversary - 2003-12-08

Getting you up to date... - 2003-11-21

Welcome Home Richard - 2003-11-12

Wisdom tells me I'm Nothing.
Love tells me I'm Everything.
Between the two my life flows.
~Nisargadatta

Navigate
Recent
Older
Profile
Book
Quotes
Freestyle
Notes
Design
Host
Go WAHOOS!
Skye